Smitten with a Vampire or Two

I never really had a thing for vampires or  rather not until I came to know Edward Cullen. I loved him for so many reasons yet I was quite disappointed  that it was Rob Pattinson who got to play his part on the big screen. I thought he didn’t fit the Edward image very well. But enough of that. I’m not really here to share my Edward stories but rather a more recent vampire encounter or should I say encounters.

The first vamp is someone  I knew shortly after I’ve known Edward. His eyes I adore the most. It’s not because he has no other good features in his face but because I like how it’s colored blue and how he looks at the girl he loves the most. Damon Salvatore may  just be a fictional character, but in him I found a distraction. After all, he’s one of the reasons I watch Vampire Diaries (watch here).

Devil-ish Damon

After quitting my job, I had all the time in the world. I usually sleep very late and almost always during the wee hours of the morning. At first, I  had nothing else to occupy me during my free time but with the decision to catch-up with the episodes I missed from season two of the show, I finally had something entertaining to do. And I realized, I couldn’t get my eyes off of Damon even when he’s feeding on other people’s blood or ripping another vampire’s chest. Sounds weird, right? But his charm and sexiness were just simply irresistible that I couldn’t get enough of him. I no longer cared that I would have to stay up all night to watch the succeeding episodes of the show.

Damon is an eye candy, no doubt about it. But it’s not only his good looks that you’d get to  love about him. And though he’s not the the type you’d fall for immediately, his charm can make you fall for him even more when you unintentionally do. Elena might like Stefan more as of the moment, but  I am hoping that my dear Damon gets her swayed enough to choose him in season four.

Damon’s really different from his brother. I’d say that Stefan is too good to be true. He is the typical protagonist— good looking, kind, loyal, smart,serious, compassionate, gentle, expressive and reliable whereas Damon the aggressive, deviant but spontaneous, easygoing, sometimes vicious and cunning; at times savage but also a lovesick fool for a  ladies’ man. Well I think, I’ve had enough of the goodie-good-guys I’ve seen on Philippine TV.

This time I’d go for someone who has always been there but has taken the backseat.

I say no to Stefan and yes to Damon. I like that he has more actions in him than just the romantic blabbering. I like how he is protective of Elena and jealous of Stefan. I like that when it boils down to saving his brother’s life, he’d make sure to be the first to drive a stake to the bad guy’s heart. Yes, he throws some tantrums at times like a five-year old kid does but I can deal with it. We all do have some emotional outbreaks and episodes, I believe. Just like what Elena said “whenever he’s around, he is so sweet…he consumes me.” I guess, I’m having the same trouble as hers.

Or not.

These past few days, I’ve been having another distraction– an original vampire. Truth is, I’ve been quite smitten by Niklaus Mikaelson. I don’t know what’s with me but I like his wry smile and his British accent. He really sounds so sexy when he talks:)  And of course, there’s also that reason which he gets more handsome as the season progresses.

Hot Hot Niklaus!

When I first saw him, I never really cared. All I know is that he’s the villain. But somehow, as season three was drawing to a close, he started growing on me. I found his interest on Caroline quite amusing for he shows his vulnerability around her. He lets her see that he too is capable of loving and of being loved.

Niklaus has a long history behind him. His attitude and views in life, I think, are understandable. He yearns for family, for companions that will stay with him for a lifetime; and he seeks for love that will last for an eternity. Maybe it is because of this that he has become so doubtful. He swears loyalty to no one and you can easily see that trust doesn’t come easy to him. Thus, betrayal on his part is an unspeakable deed. Anybody who dares to try might have to pay for it with a brutal death.

He sure does have a lot of serious trust and family issues. But again, I say it’s okay. I can deal with that. We all have issues inside our homes, right?

At the end of the day, even when he seems evil down to the core, he is still just someone who never wants to be left alone for the next thousands of years. He is still like a little kid afraid to be alone or be  the sole hybrid (half vampire; half werewolf) living on earth.

I admit that maybe because I’ve been watching this vampire show a lot that I’ve been too overwhelmed.  The former protagonist; the latter antagonist. I still have a hang over that I don’t deny. I fancy Damon. I fancy Niklaus. But who cares? I like them. I think, I’ve been smitten by a vampire or two.  And I think, they are the right distractions I need for now.

2 thoughts on “Smitten with a Vampire or Two

Leave a Reply

